Director Election

The Members meet each July and elect individuals to the Breeders’ Cup Board of Directors, which oversees the activities of the organization. Only duly elected Breeders’ Cup Members may vote in the Breeders’ Cup Director Election. Current Members have been mailed their voting login credentials.

The online portion of the Breeders’ Cup Director election begins on July 1 and concludes on July 8. The voting results will be announced following the annual meeting of the Breeders’ Cup Members on July 14.

The Breeders' Cup announced on June 7, 2022, that 20 individuals were elected to serve as Breeders’ Cup Members. Voting for the 2022 Member election by Breeders’ Cup 2021 foal and stallion nominators was concluded at 5:00 p.m. ET on June 6. Votenet, an independent election services company, administered the Members Election voting process.

The following individuals, listed alphabetically, received the most votes from the Breeders' Cup nominators to fill 20 Member seats. Each Member will serve a four-year term:

  • Rory Babich
  • Antony Beck
  • Gatewood Bell
  • Case Clay
  • Alan Cooper
  • Everett Dobson
  • William S. Farish, Jr.
  • H. Greg Goodman
  • Jonathan Green
  • Fred W. Hertrich, III
  • Jak Knelman
  • M.V. Magnier
  • Pope McLean, Jr.
  • Gavin Murphy
  • Garrett O’Rourke
  • Mike Pons
  • Daisy Phipps Pulito
  • Jaime Roth
  • Tom Ryan
  • Shunsuke Yoshida

The Breeders’ Cup Members are elected every other year by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders’ Cup Members.